Makeup: Organized Chaos

How do you store your makeup? In bags covered in bronzing powder, filled with cap-less eyeliner and lip pencils, stuffed with brushes desperate for a deep cleaning? That’s what I envision when I think of how people store their makeup. I don’t carry a makeup bag around with me. I rarely actually wear makeup. I’m the type of person who crawls out of bed and can brush my teeth, put on clothes and be out the door in 3 minutes. Well, in my head it’s 3 minutes… it usually ends up being around 20 minutes. Which leaves me stumped as to when and how makeup wearing humans find the time to actually apply products to their face every morning.

Don’t even get me started with people who always have their hair done.

Even now that I have a relaxed job with hours that are carefully watched by people in suits who view me as “just another number”, I still can’t bring myself to actually try to look nice every day. I look half decent. Presentably to anyone who won’t judge a book by it’s cover.

It’s a good thing I’ve got a great personality.

After filming my March favorites, I realized that makeup storage is something that I’ve never talked about. Not just on the internet, but in general. I take a little bit of pride in the makeup collection I have, even though it’s pretty much just collecting dust when I’m not filming. I hope my boyfriend doesn’t read that, then he really won’t let me browse though beautifully, well lit beauty product aisles at Target. Even though I can’t afford acrylic storage containers, I’m still stoked on how everything looks.

In the bottom drawer of my 3-drawer plastic container are my face products; primers, foundations, cream concealers and powders.

Middles drawer is home to all my eyeshadows; palettes and singles. I like storing my single shadows in ice cube containers. I just accidentally typed ice cream and now I have to have some.

Above that are all my lip products; chapsticks, liners, glosses, lipsticks, etc.

Next up is a smaller plastic drawer set. The bottom drawer holds my eyelash curler, tweezers scissors and some false lashes. I didn’t take a photo of that because it wasn’t all that interesting. Middle drawer holds some brushes that I never use and a few blush palettes and singles.

Top drawer holds all my mascaras, eyeliners and liquid liners.

Last but certainly not least are my brushes. I had mason jars for all of these but then they weren’t sitting right because the cotton balls I put in the bottom lost their fluff and because I put too many brushes in so they started standing too tall and it just because such a dramatic issue that I decided to just use whatever glass jars I had around. Yes, my brush issue was dramatic.

Leave a Reply

