HOW TO TUESDAY :: Cleaning Makeup Brushes

If you’ve had your makeup brushes for a year or if you just got them as a gift for the holidays, it’s important to keep them clean and sanitary… even if you’re the only one using them. Skin irritation and break outs are often caused from applying makeup with dirty brushes so it’s important to keep them germ-free.

With my larger, powder brushes a simple wash with antibacterial soap will do the trick but with my liquid foundation and eyeliner brushes, I like to make sure they’re thoroughly cleaned. I used alcohol to break down the product before washed the brush hairs with a mixture of extra virgin olive oil and soap.

The most important thing to remember when cleaning your brushes is to keep the water out of the brush base. It’s when water collects in the base than the glue softens and your brush hairs start to fall out. You also want to remember to squeeze excess water from the brushes once they’re clean by using a paper towel. You can lay your brushes flat to dry. DO NOT stand them up until they’re completely dry.

I wouldn’t necessarily recommend the glove I used because my hand did get wet, which is what I was trying to avoid. It didn’t wrinkle my hand as badly as if I hadn’t used a glove at all and it is a lot cheaper than Sigma’s Spa Brush Cleaning Glove which costs $35. I picked up the glove I used at Walmart for around $7.

Leave any questions in the comments!

One thought on “HOW TO TUESDAY :: Cleaning Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

